Books, Books, Books…

They are a major part of my life. I’m not even kidding! When most women buy wine and shoes, I purchase books and tea, maybe some cosy jumpers too…

I saw an article about books affecting relationships, and about these two women’s reactions to books changing their relationships in various ways. I thought I’d respond.

I’ve even gotten into fights with partners over my reading habit. My ex told me I should stick to the TV, he did so happily, so why was that an issue? That sucked. I’d buy him books for Christmas, and he’d pretend to read a chapter before sending it on to a charity shop a week later. Another partner disputed my choice of reading material (“do you read anything post classics era? You know, published recently?”). And one moaned when I started reading Chris Ryan novels so I’d fit in with his literary discussions on the playground.

But I fell in love as a result of reading. When Matt was staying over one time, in my old halls, I had to leave him for an hour as I had an appointment with my mentor. When I got back, he was curled up with a book. He wasn’t even disturbed by my entrance, as I kicked off my heels and shimmied out of a little dress to climb back into bed. A man who reads is a man I shall attempt to be with forever!

And, we talk about books all the time! We go through the set novels on my lists for university, as well as general books we loved as children, teenagers, young adults. Even books we read for pleasure get discussed and reviewed verbally, exploring themes and ideas of the writers, coming up with our own theories.

I’m just hoping I get books for Christmas!

One thought on “Books, Books, Books…

  1. are books your obsession? I find it hard to get involved in the plot, especially if it’s about love and relationships, because I never had any, could never handle any. neurotypical plots with neurotypical characters that I find hard to understand. also, it’s hard for me to concentrate on anything, and I’m hyper.
    I heard aspies find it hard to focus and get through a task all the way to the end. on the other hand, I’ve heard about aspies’ super focus.
    maybe if the aspie in question isnt completely absorbed in what he’s doing, he cant focus, but if he likes what he’s doing, and mostly if obsessed with it, then aspie super focus it is.
    what about psychological thrillers and horror? those I kinda like, especially when told from one person’s point of view.

Leave a Reply

