NaNoWriMo #1

Image

 

Current Word Count = 1780

I was up all of last night, firstly at work, then packing to go home this lunchtime (yes, I’ll be in Hampshire by 3pm, huzzah!). So, midnight struck, and I started writing. OK, I’ve been a rebel this year, because I actually started writing October 20th, because I needed some prose to hand in for workshopping in my seminar this week. It also means I can potentially hand in chapters of my novel in for assessment, provided they meet the brief.  This meant I was able to add at least another 300 words into Chapter One! Yay!

Sadly, because I will be potentially putting parts of my novel into submission for university, I am forbidden to put any excerpts online, as that would make me self plagiarizing my work. However, I enjoy character interviews, and other writing exercises. I’ll also talk about NaNo related stuff like survival kits, The Travelling Shovel of Death and other fun things this month! It’s all very exciting, because I’ve promised my friends and lecturers to write a blog post every single day of November to talk about my progress through this challenge. 

Bring it on November, I’m ready!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo #1

  1. Good luck with NaNoWriMo, Heidi! I have never participated though, but I am planning to do so next year. I love writing exercises, like character interviews you mentioned. It really helps you at getting to know your characters better. I even got some ideas for backstories for my novel-in-progress doing these exercises …
    Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

