SOS!

Guys, I have a problem….

I actually haven’t got anything to read! I’ve read all my books in my personal collection, and I don’t want to read any of the novels in my reading lists otherwise it will ruin it for when I get around to studying them. I’ve just polished off Memoirs of a Geshia, for, like, the second time, so am getting desperate!

I always like to have a novel that is unrelated to my studies in my uni bag, it’s just nice to be able to grab it whilst waiting for a lecture, or when sat in a coffee shop before work, and is brilliant on long bus journeys when I go to Bristol, as well as when I go on the train back to Hampshire. In order to be a writer, in my opinion, one must also be a regular reader, always having at least one book on the go.

So, if there is a book you think I should really have in my life, now is the time to tell me! 

3 thoughts on “SOS!

  1. That REALLY depends on what kind of fiction you like. If you’re into the Japanese mindset at the moment, I could recommend The Tale of Murasaki by Liza Dalby, who’s also incidentally the first non-Japanese woman to have ever been trained as a geisha. She’s also written a book about that but that’s non-fiction.

  2. Hmmmmmm…have you read ‘Johnny got his Gun’? The basic story is that a guy loses his arms, legs, the ability to see, hear, or talk in WWI. So it’s the story of how this guy comes to terms with his injuries and tries to learn to cope . Most people see it as a glaring indictment of war, but for me it was a really interesting look at what it means to be injured in tragedy.

  3. If you’re into a bit of sci-fi but with a humanitarian twist… The Dreaming Void by Peter F. Hamilton. Well, it’s a trilogy but it starts with that one. Pretty mindblowing. Oh and Julian May. Anything written by her.

Leave a Reply

