Halloween Makeup Idea = Elphaba!

I was bored last night, so I figured that I would practice my makeup for this year’s Halloween party, especially as there is a best dressed competition down at the SU. But it seemed pretty weird to just, well, green up without a perfectly good excuse, so I thought I would do a step-by-step how to on the Elphaba look.

Image

 

Elphaba is better known as the Wicked Witch of the West from the novel ‘Wizard of Oz’, which was made popular by the Judy Garland film. However, in 2003, a brand new musical, based on the Gregory Maguire novel of the same name, Wicked, brought a whole new story to this universally hated character, giving her a whole new story, and helping audiences and readers alike see this Witch in a whole new light. This is a picture of the makeup used in the musical, however, my tutorial will be different.

Image

This is because I shall be basing my Elphaba makeup on the promotional artwork, rather than on the makeup used in the actual production. If you do want to make your Elphaba look more ‘musical’, then replace the red lipstick with black.

Image

Here’s the products I used when creating Elphaba. I recommend that you at least have:

  • Your usual face cleansing routine and moisturizer
  • Your usual primer, concealer and foundation
  • Translucent powder
  • Green facepaint/stage makeup
  • Purple and Green eyeshadow (white and black are optional, I didn’t use them in the end, but these can be good for adding definition)
  • Liquid/Gel Eyeliner (Black)
  • Mascara 
  • False lashes are optional, I didn’t use them as I find them very fiddly)
  • Contact lenses if you wear glasses (or go blind, or just wear your glasses if they suit the look)
  • Plenty of brushes and sponges 
  • Bowl/Cup of water to rinse with
  • Red/Black lipstick
  • Green/Red nail varnish (I didn’t do my hands this time, but will do when I do the costume properly)

 

This is me Before Greening up!

Image

 

Right, here we go!

1. The first thing to do is to prep your skin. I am using my Lush products here (Angels on Bare Skin, Eau Roma Water and Imperialis) to do this. If you can, get all hair out of the way with a headband. 

2. Next, apply your primer, foundation and powder on as normal, but make sure you do this to all the body parts being greenified. This will give the green facepaint an even base to work on, and will help the green to not come off when it’s dry

Image

3. Here’s the fun bit! Get that facepaint and green up! Take care to let layers dry in between applications, otherwise you might undo the work you’ve done, especially when you do use water-based cheap facepaint like I did…

Image

Layer 1

Image

Layer 2

Image

Layer 3

Image

Layer 4

4. Once everything is dry, dust some powder onto the madeup parts, before you then grab your purple eyeshadow, and use it as blush. try not to do what I did, and let it become a doll’s cheek circle (this can be rectified slightly by rubbing with the fingers)

Image

5. Because Elphaba has green skin, she has to make the most of her other aspects. Her eyes are the most expressive part of her face, and need to be brought out. This is where dramatic eye makeup comes in. Once all the facepaint is dry, grab your green eyeshadow, and apply all over the eyelid, going right up to the eyebrow. Then fill in the eyelid with purple eyeshadow, and apply eyeliner in a cat-like style. Then apply mascara/false eyelashes to make those eyes REALLY pop!

Image

6. The final stage is to apply that lipstick. I’m using Strong, from Lush’s wonderful Emotional Brilliance range, though any good shade of red works, or black if that’s what you prefer.

Image

TaDah! That is a finished Elphaba Makeup!

I am rather happy with it, although I will be investing in proper green stage makeup for Halloween, I think!

So, I hope you enjoyed this how to guide, I enjoyed making it! Now,I really ought to get some work done…

 

 

One thought on “Halloween Makeup Idea = Elphaba!

Leave a Reply

