Blog Action Day – 16th October

Image

I’m one of those people who cannot stand for injustice, be it when someone steals my flatmate’s food in our kitchen after an impromptu kitchen gathering, or sees someone in the schoolyard being treated badly because they are different. I loathe injustice, because it’s been a major part of my life, as I tried to bring abusive foster carers to justice, but my efforts were ignored, so I will always carry that injustice with me wherever I go. 

So, I have been a member of Amnesty International since I was seventeen, signing petitions to governments across the world to either stop an execution, or to free a prisoner of conscience, and writing emails to my local MP about equal marriage rights and the Arms Trade Treaty.

This morning, I had this link popped onto my Facebook feed, and I knew that this would be a wonderful thing. Basically, on the 16th of October, 2013, thousands of bloggers from all over the world, will write a blog entry about human rights, and atrocities that are committed against them, so that, as a result, we can fight to bring justice to those who need it.

Because injustice is something that should shoot our hearts with the sharpest of pains. What if it you, or a member of your family, a friend or a partner, a colleague, who is suffering because of human rights atrocities? You’d want someone to bring justice for that issue. And that’s where you can help.

http://www2.amnesty.org.uk/blogs/ether/one-global-conversation-human-rights-blog-action-day

Here’s the link, with a video and more information about Human Rights Blog Action Day, and ideas of what you can write about. Also check out Amnesty’s website, I promise you’ll never look back. 

Please, join me on October 16th. Blog about human rights

 

Leave a Reply

