31 Day Blog Challenge #5

Today’s all about the music! I have to list ten songs I adore and talk about why they are so awesome.

1. Defying Gravity (Single) – Idina Menzel

Now, when I need to kick butt, be it for a university visit, or when I need to stand up to people and for what I believe in, I play this. This song has actually gotten me through some pretty bad times, so it’s at number one.

2. La Vi Bohem – Rent

This is a song I love, simply because it’s all about going against the status quo. It’s about being who you want to be, rather than being a carbon copy of society’s ideal. I also love the running dog joke based in the actual musical!

3. Fearless – Taylor Swift

Okay, I admit it, I am a shameless Swifty! Well, for her original stuff, right up to her ‘Speak Now’ album. Fearless is another song I like listening to, because its about being fearless about who you fall in love with. I also adore the whole album too!

4. So Much Better – Legally Blonde

This is basically about kicking ass, especially when people think you’re never going to succeed, because of a lousy stereotype. It helps me when I feel like I might fail. If a blonde law student can do it, so can I!

5. Bohimian Rhapsody – Queen

Now, this is a TUNE! Cue mushing and off key warbling along! This is one of the longest songs known, but it is so worth it! Oh, Freddy, why did you have to leave us?

6. We Will Rock You – Queen

We will, we will, ROCK YOU! Sorry, its just one of those songs you bash the table with the nearest wooden impliment and shout along to! I have sweet school memories with this one.

7. Sweet Child of Mine – Guns and Roses

TUNE! Excuse me whilst I go into a corner to air riff to this kick ass solo!

8. I Stand – Idina Menzel

These lyrics speak to me, and I screamed like a girl when she had this on her set list when I saw her live a couple of months ago! Just listen to it, you’ll see what I mean.

9. Rent! – Rent

I love the rocky music, the rebellious lyrics. I played this when social workers were due to talk to me about the rent… Opps!

10. What I Own – Rent

This is basically a huge part of the musical, where they wonder what they are doing with their lives, before making life changing choices. I just adore the way it has been done, as well as the fact that it helped me make my uni choices.

So, thats my top ten songs! See you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

